After being postponed last week, the annual Edwards County Lincoln Day Dinner is taking place this Friday.

Several regional Republicans are slated to make an appearance at the Feb. 26 event, including Illinois 55th District State Senator Darren Bailey, Illinois 109th District State Representative Adam Niemerg, U.S. 15th Congressional District Representative Mary Miller, Attorney Tom DeVore and Black and Right radio talk show host John Anthony. Republican candidates for local offices will also be speaking at the dinner as well.

Also added to the schedule of events were Judges Michael McHaney and Barry Vaughn. Judge McHaney plans to run for the seat on the Illinois Fifth Appellate Court vacated by Justice David Overstreet, who was elected to the Illinois Supreme Court in November.

“We will have candidates mingle with the crowd during social hour, so people can talk to them and ask questions,” said Republican Committeewoman Sherry Funkhouser. “We will also have Sam Bogle playing the piano during social hour.”

 Appetizers for the event’s social hour are being provided by Sharlee Aaron, with Olney-based The Smoking’ Pig providing the dinner itself.

A silent auction will also be organized for the dinner.

“We would like to invite anyone from the community,” Funkhouser said. “We want everyone to have a chance to talk to their elected governmental representatives and people who are helping the citizens of Illinois.

“The Edwards County Republican Committee wants to work for everyone in our community, to improve our county.”

The Lincoln Day Dinner is slated for Friday, Feb, 26, with social hour beginning at 5:30 p.m. and dinner taking place at 6:30 p.m. Tickets can be purchased from members of the Republican Committee at $25 per adult and $15 per child aged four through 14, with children under four allowed in free of charge.

Members of the committee include Averi Goodman, Brian Shinkle, Dennis Splittorf, Dustin Hawkins, Erin Koertge, Kelli Leavens, Madison Swartzbaugh, Marla Swartzbaugh, Martin Swartzbaugh, Steve Smith, Steve Thomason and Funkhouser.